Betsy Andrews Parker, MPH

“One thing that people don’t realize about CAPSC is that you don’t know about us until you need us. There are many people out there wondering how they are going to pay their rent, bills, or childcare and do not have any money saved. No one knows about CAPSC until you need CAPSC. We are here to help.” – Betsey Andrews Parker, CEO

Betsey Andrews Parker, MPH has been the CEO of the Community Action Partnership of Strafford County since 2010. She oversees the administration of federal, state, and local programs that reach over 19,000 clients each year to help meet basic needs for housing, nutrition, childcare, education, and emergency assistance.

Prior to her tenure at CAPSC, she was the Public Health Practice Lead at URS Corporation where she provided program, planning, and training to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

She is currently the Chair of the New England Community Action Partnership, board member for CAPLAW (national membership organization), Chair of the Greater Rochester Community
Health Foundation, Past President of the Rotary Club of Dover, and a three-term elected official and Vice Chair of the Dover School Board. She is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire and Boston University.

  • Kathleen Crompton

    Kathy Crompton is the Chief Program Officer and oversees programs and related services by providing mentoring, guidance, supervision, and professional opportunities to staff. Kathy has over 45 years of experience in the nonprofit world. She has performed as staff, trainer, director, and executive director. She has also served on nonprofit boards including local and state organizations. Kathy relishes the time she spends with spirited family and friends in the Merrimack Valley and beyond.

    Kathleen Crompton

    Kathleen Crompton
    Chief Program Officer

  • Melissa Spil, MSW

    Melissa Spil is Chief Advancement Officer and oversees fundraising, marketing, events, volunteers, and communications for CAPSC. Melissa has a Master’s Degree in Social Work from Washington University in St. Louis and a Bachelor’s in Spanish and International Studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has more than 10 years of experience in the nonprofit sector, with special expertise in fundraising, data, and storytelling. Melissa is a North Carolina native and is an avid sports fan, including the North Carolina Tar Heels, Carolina Panthers, and Charlotte Hornets.

    Melissa Spil

    Melissa Spil, MSW
    Chief Advancement Officer

  • Leslie Craigen

    Leslie Craigen is Chief Financial Officer and oversees all financial initiatives, ensures compliance with relevant laws and tax obligations, and manages organizational risks and liabilities for CAPSC. Leslie received both her Master’s Degree in Health Administration and her Bachelor’s Degree in Health Management and Policy from the University of New Hampshire. She has 22 years of experience in the long-term care industry doing finance, reimbursement analysis, and government relations, along with 6 years of experience working in the nonprofit sector for private foundations. Originally from Long Island, Leslie now lives in Barrington with her husband and 3 children and enjoys outdoor sports and traveling with her family.

    Leslie Craigen

    Leslie Craigen
    Chief Financial Officer

  • Bob Arnold

    Bob Arnold is the Director of Housing Development and Revitalization and oversees property procurement, energy efficiency, and emergency heating replacement programs. Bob has extensive building experience and holds Dept. of Energy certifications as a Building Analyst, Energy Auditor, and Quality Control Inspector. Bob is a Kansas City Missouri native, Gulf War veteran, outdoorsman, avid angler, and proud husband and father. Bob has a five-gallon deep fryer he has been known to fire up for special CAPSC events.

    Bob Arnold

    Bob Arnold
    Housing Development and Revitalization Director

  • Daniel Clark

    Dan is the Director of Community Services and oversees all housing assistance, homeless outreach, and shelter programs. Originally from Boston, he has over 20 years of experience working with vulnerable populations in Maine and New Hampshire. He has been a part of CAPSC since 2020 and is excited to be a part of a growing, community-focused organization.

    Dan Clark

    Daniel Clark
    Director of Community Services

  • Tanisha Johnson, MBA

    Tanisha is the Child and Family Services Director and oversees all of CAPSC’s Early Care and Education Programs, Family Support Programs, and Population Health. Tanisha has a Bachelor’s Degree in Organizational Psychology and a Master’s Degree in Business Administration with over 10 years of experience within nonprofit management. As a mother, her passion has always been around empowerment and activism and this ranges from feminism, racial and social justice, and youth services.

    Tanisha Johnson

    Tanisha Johnson, MBA
    Child and Family Services Director

  • Jamie Swan, NCRT

    Jamie Swan serves as CAPSC’s Director of Administrative Services and has been with the agency since 2008. She has been working with non-profits for over twenty years with expertise in program development, budgeting, and goal setting. Originally from Pennsylvania, Jamie resides in Dover with her family.

    Jamie Swan

    Jamie Swan, NCRT
    Director of Administrative Services

Board of Directors

Terry Jarvis

Terry Jarvis, Chair

Elected Official
New Durham, NH

Jean Miccolo

Jean Miccolo, Treasurer

Community Member
Rochester, NH

Alison Dorow

Alison Dorow, Secretary

Attorney, Strafford County
Barrington, NH

Alan Brown

Alan Brown, Board Member

Newburyport Bank
Rochester, NH

Hope Flynn, Esq.

Hope Morrow Flynn, Board Member

Hoover & Flynn, PLLC
Portsmouth, NH

Maureen Staples

Maureen Staples, Board Member

Community Member
Dover, NH

Leah Crouser

Leah Crouser, Board Member

NH Public Defender
Dover, NH

Andrew Swanberry

Captain Andrew Swanberry, Board Member

Rochester Police Department
Rochester, NH

Mark Toussaint

Mark Toussaint, Board Member

Rochester, NH

Bob Harrington

Dr. Robert Harrington, Board Member

Orthopedic Surgery
Dover, NH

Robbie Hinkel

Robert Warach, Board Member

Elected Official
Dover, NH

Ian Oneail

Ian Oneail, Board Member

Bangor Savings Bank
Raymond, NH

Sarah Kuhl

Sarah Kuhl, Board Member

Service Credit Union
Dover, NH

Anthony Carr

Anthony Carr, Board Member

Shaheen & Gordon, P.A.
Dover, NH

Christine McCluskey

Christine McCluskey, Board Member

D.F. Richard Energy
Farmington, NH

Katrin Kasper

Katrin Kasper, Board Member

Elected Official
Lee, NH

James Rathbun

James Rathbun, Board Member

Community Member
Farmington, NH

Nicki Gearwar, Board Member

Community Member
Dover, NH